Astha’s Story

Changing Stories
2 min readMar 31, 2021

“My husband and I worked hard so we could send all our children to boarding school. But we lost hope when Pawan kept failing his exams. I was so angry that I decided to transfer him to a public school. But that didn’t work. His teachers were always complaining about him. I had given up on him and my dream for him to complete school. But after Kavita ma’am began teaching the extra classes, my son started to improve. He went to school regularly and took school seriously. Before, he would spend most of the time outside playing with his friends, but slowly he stopped playing that often and put more and more of his time into school. He didn’t know how to write in Nepali, but he practiced every night and started memorising Nepali words. He would come home from the extra classes and tell me about the things he had learned that day. The excitement I saw in his eyes when he talked was priceless. One day, he brought a book home from school and read me a couple of Nepali poems. It was the first time I had ever heard my son read out loud. As a mother, I couldn’t be prouder of him. He eventually turned his grades around and is topping his class! I don’t know how Kavita ma’am did it, but I can’t thank her enough.”

(Astha Hamal, mom to Pawan who was enrolled in CS Nepal’s accelerated learning courses from 2019–20)

Want to help us give more kids like Pawan an opportunity to learn how to read, write, and do math? Join The Classroom, Changing Stories monthly giving community, today 🙌

--

--