Abhiksha’s Story

Changing Stories
2 min readMar 31, 2021

“I used to be afraid of raising my hand in class. I thought that if my answer was wrong, my teacher and friends would laugh at me. So I always just sat in the back and listened to the teacher without saying a word. When our teacher stopped coming one day, and no one came as a substitute, I lost interest in school. I started skipping school, and ended up falling behind the others.

One day, my parents were told that there was going to be extra classes every day after school. The classes were for students who were struggling in class. My parents were worried about my studies so they wanted me to go to the classes. I wasn’t very excited about going but in the end I decided to go just to make them happy.

After I started going to the classes I ended up really enjoying them. The teacher who taught the classes, Barsha ma’am, would come up with interesting games and teach us in fun ways. My favourite game was adding two numbers together using a deck of cards. It is my favourite game because it helped me understand addition and subtraction, and made me realise that learning could be fun. I never knew it could be so easy to understand Math. It’s all because of Barsha ma’am that I can now do addition, subtraction, and division all on my own. I even started reading Nepali storybooks with my classmates at school and every night at home before going to sleep. I had never thought someone like me who hated going to school would end up actually enjoying going to school, studying, and getting good marks in exams. I know I’ve improved a lot and that I couldn’t have done it without Barsha ma’am!”

(Abhiksha Chaudhary, a student enrolled in CS Nepal’s accelerated learning courses from 2019–20)

Want to help us give more kids like Abhiksha an opportunity to learn how to read, write, and do math? Join The Classroom, Changing Stories monthly giving community, today 🙌

--

--